Vatican News
Mons. James Raphael Anaparambil Mons. James Raphael Anaparambil 

Pope appoints a coadjutor bishop to Alleppey Diocese in India

Mons. James Raphael Anaparambil has been appointed coadjutor bishop of Allepey diocese in Kerala, India.

Pope Francis on Thursday appointed Mons. James Raphael Anaparambil, the  coadjutor bishop to the Diocese of Alleppey in Southern India’s Kerala state.  Unlike an auxiliary bishop a coadjutor bishop has the right to succession.  

Mons. James Raphael Anaparambil was born on March 7, 1962 in Kandakadavu (Diocese of Alleppey). After his studies at the  Major Seminary of Alwaye, he  was ordained a priest on December 17, 1986 for the same Diocese.

After his priestly ordination he held the following positions:

            1986-1987: Chaplain, St. Thomas Church in Thumply;

            1987-1988: Chaplain, Monte Carmelo Cathedral in Alleppey;

            1989-1993: Prefect and Procurator of the Sacred Heart Minor Seminary in Mayithara, Cherthala, Allappuzha;

            1993-1998: Doctorate in Biblical Theology at the Pontifical Urbaniana University in Rome.

            1998-2009: Teacher of Biblical Theology and Hebrew Language at the Pontifical Seminary St. Joseph, Carmelgiri, Aluva, and Diocesan Director of the Vocational Center of Kerala;

            2009-2011: Rector of the Pontifical Seminary St. Joseph, Carmelgiri, Aluva;

            2011-2014: Lecturer at the St. Joseph Seminary, Carmelgiri, Aluva;

            2014-2016: Assistant Vicar General for the clergy, religious and seminarians of Alleppey;

            since 2016: Serves as a member of the Bible revision core team at the Center for Pastoral Orientation in Ernakulam.

The Diocese of Allepey was erected on June 19, 1952. It has an area of 333 sq. kms with Alleppey and Ernakulam districts.  The Catholic population here is 167,565. The diocese has 52 parishes and 22 chapels with resident priests.  It also has 22 substations. It is served by 109 Diocesan priests, 23 Religious priests, 2 Religious brothers, 362 Religious sisters from 59 Religious houses and 81 Diocesan seminarians.

07 December 2017, 12:11